1. Model 3 is coming. Get your Model 3 Owners Club apparel today!

Dismiss Notice

Aluminum battery pack

Discussion in 'Maintenance & Repair' started by Mesprit87, Nov 2, 2017.

1. Mesprit87

Expand Collapse

City & State/Province:
    Sainte-Anne-des-Lacs, Québec
    Tesla Owner:
    Reservation
    Country
    Just read that the battery pack structure or envelope will be made of aluminum ally.
    Now I am not a Tesla expert (yet ) but isn't the one for the S made of stainless steel ?

Aluminum in Québec doesn't last that long if it's not well engineered. See we like to pay taxes so the transportation department can spread a lot of salt and worse, calcium to destroy anything on the road during winter. People who don't live where these products are used cannot begin to imagine what a car looks like after 15 years, parts that you would never change otherwise (and probably NLA by then) desintegrate and the word is not too strong.
    I speak from experience.
    Audi, well known for the use of Al may or may not have fixed issues I encountered on my 2001 TTQ. If it were not of my keen eye, I would probably have lost my hood by now. The metallic latch mechanism was mounted directly on the painted surface and with a little help from the grime and calcium and galvanic corrosion, the Al skin started to look link a swiss cheese in no time (6 years maybe).
    Now I try to keep my cars for 20 years and can usually achieve it but initial enginering needs to give me a chance.

I sure hope those californian engineers had a little thought for us and designed this piece to the highest standards.

Any thoughts ?

• Agree Agree x 1
  2. arnis

Top-Contributor
    Expand Collapse

City & State/Province:
    near Tallinn
    Country
    It is made out of Aluminium alloy. There are lots of those. With lots of additives possible.
    Worrying over that is like worrying that other cars are made out of steel that can rust.
    Well, it can also be stainless steel. Or zinced steel.