Buying Stock?

Dan Detweiler

Top-Contributor
Country
Country
Really, really, really stupid ignorant question here but how exactly does one go about purchasing Tesla stock? I have a 403b through my work but I have never tried to purchase individual stocks before. I might have some extra money after this year's tax refund and was thinking about possibly investing in the home team. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Dan

SoFlaModel3

Team Midnight Silver
M3OC Supporting Member
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Country
Country
Really, really, really stupid ignorant question here but how exactly does one go about purchasing Tesla stock? I have a 403b through my work but I have never tried to purchase individual stocks before. I might have some extra money after this year's tax refund and was thinking about possibly investing in the home team. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Dan
I use TD Ameritrade for individual stock trading. Fairly standard and easy to use. Usually for new members there are waived commission fees as well.

SoFlaModel3

Team Midnight Silver
M3OC Supporting Member
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Country
Country
Being completely ignorant, what kind of fees should I expect, both initially and ongoing?

Thanks,

Dan
You should expect no fees up front unless you incur wire transfer fees (generally ACH would be free).

From there commissions on a trade whether you buy 1 share or 1,000 shares would likely be anywhere from $5-20. Consider that if you make quick small trades you need to cover the commission in and out or only the broker makes money :)

There may be a minimum initial deposit for your trading money, but that shouldn’t be an issue if you’re buying shares in TSLA ;)

SoFlaModel3

Team Midnight Silver
M3OC Supporting Member
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Country
Country
Should I expect a minimum number of shares or $ to buy in?

Dan
Not these days, but way back when they’d call it an “odd lot” and it was less common to trade in abnormal blocks.