Cannot configure WiFi

  • Please post everything related to v9 (2018.39.x) into the version 9 MEGATHREAD. Please do your part to keep this site organized for everyone by looking around or doing a search BEFORE posting. Thanks

  • It's OK to discuss software issues here but please report bugs to Tesla directly at servicehelpna@teslamotors.com if you want things fixed.

Ferd Ball

Active Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2017
Messages
37
Location
san diego, ca
Country
Country
#1
Every time I try to configure WiFi, I get an error.

I tried on 34.1 and 36.2.
I tried on my Netgear and with my mesh (Plume).

Error: Could not join <network>. Please check the password.

I’ve even tried to entered the network in manually. No dice.

Any suggestions?
 

Dr. J

Private
M3OC Supporting Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2017
Messages
695
Location
Fort Worth
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Country
Country
#2
It sounds like you're doing it right. I'm going to have to do this soon. From the owner's manual:
upload_2018-10-5_22-24-10.png
 

ER1C8

Active Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
89
Location
Rhode Island
Tesla Owner
Reservation
Country
Country
#3
Be careful when entering passwords, the keyboard always displays capital letters but they are lowercase unless the shift key is highlighted. Could this be the problem? I had to enter my WiFi password more then once and I think this was my issue.
 

Kizzy

Top-Contributor
Joined
Jul 25, 2016
Messages
575
Location
California
Tesla Owner
Reservation
Country
Country
#4
I had to manually enter my network several times before it stuck (it worked a couple of times before it decided there was an error). It seems really hesitant to join networks with poor signal strength, but some getting it to connect a few times got it automatically picking it up everytime I park in my driveway.
 

Rick Steinwand

Active Member
Joined
May 19, 2018
Messages
174
Location
Fargo, ND
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Country
Country
#5
^^^ ditto.

Type it slowly and make sure what's echoed on the screen is correct (upper vs lower case).
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2017
Messages
17
Location
USA
Country
Country
#6
Every time I try to configure WiFi, I get an error.

I tried on 34.1 and 36.2.
I tried on my Netgear and with my mesh (Plume).

Error: Could not join <network>. Please check the password.

I’ve even tried to entered the network in manually. No dice.

Any suggestions?
Verify that you have 'Broadcast SSID' Turned on at the router.