1. Tesla Model 3 apparel now available!

Dismiss Notice

Charge Times

Discussion in 'Charging and Infrastructure' started by Jaspal, Feb 20, 2017.

More threads by Jaspal
  1. Jaspal

Expand Collapse

City & State/Province:
    Turlock, California
    Country
    Quick question about the charging times at home.

I assume that most of the M3 owners will commute daily and have questions about charge times. I'm a University student and driving is a big apart of my commute to the University. I already have a 220V Nema 14-50 40 amp outlet at home and I really don't know if it would suffice my needs. On average I drive roughly 80 miles a day. Knowing that, I won't run out empty because the expected range is well over 215 miles for the M3. Aside my situation, say it did run out juice every day and that it needed to be charge to full capacity, how long will it take to charge the vehicle?
    • Given that, you have a 14-50 220V 40 Amp outlet, how fast can a Tesla Charge to full capacity?
    • How about for a high power wall charger that does 80-100 amps?
    Sorry for the "noob-ness." I'm just another person that needs to be informed o_O.

Thanks,
    Jaspal Singh

2. garsh

Dis Member
    Expand Collapse

City & State/Province:
    Pittsburgh PA
    Country
    Tesla actually has a nice little tool to see how long it will take to charge given different EVSE setups at home.

https://www.tesla.com/charge-at-home

If you set the tool for a 40 amp charger, and adjust the slider to 80 miles, it estimates that it would take a bit under 3 hours to charge a Model S to go that distance.

For the full 300 miles, it would take ten and a half hours.

• Informative Informative x 1
    • Jaspal

Expand Collapse

City & State/Province:
      Turlock, California
      Country
      Thanks Garsh,

I still wonder though, do most of the Tesla Owners charge every night? According to the tool you showed me, it takes $12 to charge the car at 300 miles driven.

• Matthew Morgan

Expand Collapse