1. Model 3 is coming. Get your Model 3 Owners Club apparel today!

Dismiss Notice

dc motor vs ac motor

Discussion in 'Electric Vehicles' started by franzellin, May 6, 2016.

More threads by franzellin
  1. franzellin

Expand Collapse

City & State/Province:
    monaco
    I am future tesla3 driver but I am also an old electric scooter driver, with more than 35.000 km

The main difference between an electric scooter with 80V and 4.8 Kwh batteries and 150 A controller with DC brushless motor on the rear wheel and a Tesla, is the AC motor in the rear transmission with till 700V

Speaking with the scooter producer in China , mr.Chen, he tells me that the last DC controllers are able to support till 500A and an E scooter could easely increase the installed batteries over 100 V with always 5kwh capacity and could be also an insane e-scooter
    My e-scooter has a consumption of 62W/km with my way of riding and streets, a TESLA I read has an average of 250W/km, but in Singapur 450W/km

The questions that I would like to ask and receive an answer is:

1?) There must be a reason why all EV car producers use AC motors, it sounds illogical because the energy is DC,

somebody tells me that AC motors are standard in the industry and are easier to purchase but sounds illogical

2?) what is the transformation loss from DC to AC? 1%? if it is so small makes only 4km range

thanks - renato

2. garsh

Dis Member
    Moderator M3OC Supporting Member
    Expand Collapse

City & State/Province:
    Pittsburgh PA
    Country
  3. franzellin

Expand Collapse

City & State/Province:
    monaco
    thanks, the link was perfect to begin my short quest for explanations:

I understood that a "Tesla" motor, is cheaper, no risks of rare earths embargos, once the electronics is programmed, you do not need other investments and it is perfect for high powers, the only disadvantage seems to be the increased heat production that has to be controlled.