1. Model 3 is coming. Get your Model 3 Owners Club apparel today!

Dismiss Notice

Excited New York Reservation holder here, Hello World

Discussion in 'Personal Introductions' started by AlphaCompton, May 25, 2017.

More threads by AlphaCompton
  1. AlphaCompton

Expand Collapse

City & State/Province:
    NEW YORK
    Country
    Hi everyone I'm very excited to be a pre-unveil reservation holder for a Model 3. I'm currently a college student (almost graduated) and have been dreaming of owning a Tesla since the debut of Autopilot. I knew no amount of math could allow me to purchase and own a Tesla with what i currently make (~$1000 per month) but when the Model 3 was announced to be a 35K car I knew I would be able to afford that. I will probably barely make enough to finance the car based on my part time I.T. job but I'm hoping to graduate and get a new full time job by the time my car is available to order. I know it's not ideal and I should probably wait until I have a stable job but I still need a vehicle and my older BMW 525i that I bought with the help of my dad is starting to give trouble and I doubt I can (or would want to) afford to troubleshoot and fix all it's problems. it's a fantastic ride on good days but I know the Model 3 will surpass it in every way and I'm extremely eager to get on board with autopilot and autonomous driving because I think it's cool , futuristic and safer than traditional driving.

• Like Like x 5
  2. MelindaV

☰ > 3
    Expand Collapse

City & State/Province:
    Vancouver, WA
    Tesla Owner:
    Reservation
    Country
    not so sound like a downer, but how do you plan to afford a car payment on a $35k car when you make less than $12k a year? you can't assume you will immediately be getting a well paying job, and a car payment shouldn't be more than 20% of your take home income. (and if getting a loan, what they will look at allowing for a loan).

• Agree Agree x 1
  3. garsh

Dis Member
    Moderator M3OC Supporting Member