1. Tesla Model 3 apparel now available!

Dismiss Notice

Greetings from Massachusetts

Discussion in 'Personal Introductions' started by John Slaby, Aug 5, 2017.

More threads by John Slaby
  1. John Slaby

Expand Collapse

City & State/Province:
    Milford, MA
    Country
    Hi, having been on the forum for a while now, I thought it was about time to introduce myself, so here are a series of random ramblings about my journey to the Model 3:

• I work in the technology sector, so I love learning the details of how things work. When I first discovered the simplicity and elegance of electric cars, I fell in love with the concept and made it a goal to own one at some point.
    • The emergence of hybrids did nothing to motivate me to own an environmentally friendly car. Far from simplicity, they suffered from the complexity of both ICE and electric motors, and they were singularly unattractive. I suspect there is a belief among traditional car manufacturers that EVs need to look oddly futuristic (with emphasis on 'oddly'), so that owners can make the statement that they are really different from others. That's not me.
    • This is the second vehicle revolution in my lifetime. The first was the emergence of the Japanese car companies with inexpensive, reliable cars that forced US and other entrenched car manufacturers to deal with quality as a priority. Back then I thought, 'this is going to change the auto industry forever and for better'. (What an amazing con perpetuated on luxury car buyers - we'll sell you this really expensive car and then force you to spend a lot of money maintaining it. And, oh, by the way, if you can't afford all that maintenance, then you're not deserving of our cars). I made a promise at that point to only buy cars that prioritized quality and value, and have kept that promise to this day.