1. Tesla Model 3 apparel now available!

Dismiss Notice

Greetings from The Netherlands

Discussion in 'Personal Introductions' started by Dennis van der Pool, Mar 21, 2017.

More threads by Dennis van der Pool
  1. Dennis van der Pool

Expand Collapse

City & State/Province:
    Netherlands
    Country
    Hi,

I'm Dennis van der Pool from the Netherlands. I work as a lead developer on the IT department of a large financial institution and also have my own IT company besides that.

A few years ago we had an external consultant working for us who owned a Tesla Model S he pre-ordered long way before the first Model S came rolling of the assembly lines. A few times we talk about cars and i got fascinated by the Tesla and asked him if i could join him in a ride during our break.
    The next time he was in the office (as he wasn't in the office that much) i asked if we could drive together. The moment (5 February 2014) we walked to his car i was amazed. Ever since that experience i wanted my next car to be a BEV especially as Tesla Model S.

Even though it would take me at least 15 years to save for one, i didn't gave up and thought, while i'm saving the price will come down, technology improves, other car manufacturers will come up with BEV's as well and second hand Tesla's would become more in a price range i could afford. So it would just be a matter of time before i have my own Tesla. This has started me saving for one.

When i found out that the Model 3 would be unveiled it was also tweeted by Elon if i'm correct that people could pre-order the car in the stores before the unveil. At the time i thought why should i stand in front off the store with hundreds of other people, i'll just pre-order online. But at the 31st of march i had to go to the car dealer with my current car (a Titan Silver BMW 330Cd from 2004) and i was done there one hour before the Tesla service center/store in Tilburg would open so i thought i'll just go there and have a look.