HVAC - Anyone have details about dashboard vents?

GaryNLA

I live in Southern California, so air conditioning is vital to the comfort of me and my passengers. I was a bit alarmed by discussions of air vents or lack thereof in the Tesla 3 dashboard. If there's no cool air blowing in my face on hot days, I'm an unhappy driver. Anyone have more info?

TrevP

M3OC Founder / Administrator
Founder
Tesla Owner
Model X
Country
Country
No details yet other than what Doug Field mentioned in one of the test drives. The dash has slots instead of the usual vents. I take it there will be some form of directional control for front facing vents but we will have to wait and see. I don't think we'll get any more details until next year when the final production cars are revealed and media test drives will happen.

With the roof being nearly all glass I'd have to believe maintaining a comfortable driving environment would be paramount.

Skione65

Top-Contributor
Tesla Owner
Reservation
Country
Country
I live in Southern California, so air conditioning is vital to the comfort of me and my passengers. I was a bit alarmed by discussions of air vents or lack thereof in the Tesla 3 dashboard. If there's no cool air blowing in my face on hot days, I'm an unhappy driver. Anyone have more info?

GaryNLA,

All I've gleaned so far is what Elon covered in the Presentation during his Reveal/Press Coverage. Of course this could all change but he did specify the vents would NOT be conventional vents as seen on most vehicles today but two lower rear facing vents I assume below the dash in front of the driver and passenger. It shows the aforementioned two vents.
Here are the CAD's firm his Reveal Speech:

Well it says upload file is too large.
TrevP maybe you can help me out.
I can email them to you and you can resize?
I just pulled them from the Reveal Vid via Screenshot.

Ski

TrevP

Founder
Tesla Owner
Model X
Country
Country
GaryNLA,