1. Model 3 is coming. Get your Model 3 Owners Club apparel today!


    Dismiss Notice

ODB-II connector? (also clearance for same & example)

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by 17.088 ^2, Nov 7, 2016.

More threads by 17.088 ^2
  1. 17.088 ^2

    Active Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    8
    City & State/Province:
    Twin Cities, Minnesota
    Country:
    Country
    ** Does anyone know if the Tesla Model 3 is due to have an ODB-II connector or not? **

    For some time now, people have been making various things OTHER THAN a diagnostic tool that can connect to the ODB plug. I happen to be a customer of T-Mobile; they've just released one such gadget that plugs into the ODB-II connector.

    I recently read an interesting web-article at this URL:
    T-Mobile SyncUp Drive can create a Wi-Fi hotspot in your car and analyze vehicle diagnostics
    It sounds intriguing to me, for both the here and now as well as the future.

    So, here comes the obvious follow-up question:

    ** _IF_ there is an ODB-II connector, will it be located in an unobtrusive location, such that the above mentioned "T-Mobile SyncUp Drive" can be plugged in, and NOT in the way when someone is driving? **


    17.088
     
  2. MelindaV

    ☰ > 3
    Moderator
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    3,617
    Likes Received:
    2,560
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Female
    City & State/Province:
    Vancouver, WA
    Tesla Owner:
    Reservation
    Country:
    Country
    the S and X have one - I believe it's required on all cars sold in the US, even if the original intent of it is pointless in a Tesla.

    People will often use it to power dashcams.
    [​IMG]
     
    • Like Like x 2
  3. AEDennis

    Top-Contributor
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Messages:
    721
    Likes Received:
    422
    Trophy Points:
    63
    City & State/Province:
    Southern California, Most of the time...
    Country:
    Country
    #3 AEDennis, Nov 8, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2016
    Actually... it depends on what you're trying to get out of the car...

    Tesla S and X have OBD ports... but (on the S and Roadster AP for sure, not sure about X) the actual diagnostic information and the like is communicated through a Tesla Proprietary cable...

    I'll update bread with pictures. Or you can look at one of my previous posts on MyEV (Model S, Roadster) to see what it looks like, it's basically the port that the MyEV connects to for the actual diag port...
     
  4. Badback

    Valued Community Member
    M3OC Supporting Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    578
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    City & State/Province:
    Prior Lake, MN
    Tesla Owner:
    Reservation
    Country:
    Country
    On Board Diagnostics is OBD.
     
  5. Charlie W

    Active Member
    M3OC Supporting Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    City & State/Province:
    Lewes, Delaware
    Tesla Owner:
    Reservation
    Country:
    Country
    @Badback - Thanks for clarifying. Each day I discover, more & more, how much I don't know. ;)
     
  6. AEDennis

    Top-Contributor
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Messages:
    721
    Likes Received:
    422
    Trophy Points:
    63
    City & State/Province:
    Southern California, Most of the time...
    Country:
    Country
    No need for a little snark... As I've implied in my previous post...

    ...Tesla isn't really complying with OBD.

    Check out the TM-Spy thread on TMC for how people are using the Tesla diag port.

    And see these pictures from my post above:

    [​IMG]IMG_20150410_113000 by Dennis Pascual, on Flickr

    [​IMG]IMG_20150410_113028 by Dennis Pascual, on Flickr

    [​IMG]IMG_20150410_113053 by Dennis Pascual, on Flickr
     
  7. Charlie W

    Active Member
    M3OC Supporting Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    City & State/Province:
    Lewes, Delaware
    Tesla Owner:
    Reservation
    Country:
    Country
    @Badback. I'm sorry. I wasn't trying to be snarky. I REALLY didn't know what OBD meant. And I guess I was too lazy to look it up. Thanks for saving me the trouble. (I guess I shouldn't have put the emoticon after my post.)
     
  8. teslaliving

    Top-Contributor
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    223
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Gender:
    Male
    City & State/Province:
    Boston
    Tesla Owner:
    Model S
    Country:
    Country
    In the US it is still legally required. I use mine (with a hacked cable I made) to power my Dashcam 24x7. I plan on (somehow) doing a similar thing for the 3.
     
  9. AEDennis

    Top-Contributor
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Messages:
    721
    Likes Received:
    422
    Trophy Points:
    63
    City & State/Province:
    Southern California, Most of the time...
    Country:
    Country
    Does the OBD port on the S actually do the Diagnostic stuff too, or just power?

    The Tesla Serial cable in the middle console seems to be where a lot of actual "CAN BUS-connecting" devices connect to.
     
  10. teslaliving

    Top-Contributor
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    223
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Gender:
    Male
    City & State/Province:
    Boston
    Tesla Owner:
    Model S
    Country:
    Country
    I haven't heard of anyone getting anything but power off the ODB-II in the Model S or X.
     
  11. Gilberto Pe-Curto

    Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2016
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Gender:
    Male
    City & State/Province:
    Almada, Portugal
    Country:
    Country
    Maybe after some time an hacker can upload some program to remove the limit of 60kwh in a 75kwh baterry pack.
    Just like we do in ICE cars to get more power from the car using this port and remapping the ECU.
     
  12. AEDennis

    Top-Contributor
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Messages:
    721
    Likes Received:
    422
    Trophy Points:
    63
    City & State/Province:
    Southern California, Most of the time...
    Country:
    Country
    Not exactly the same thing.

    Tesla lowered the barrier to entry with SW limited 60s to enable purchasers access to a price point that they can't normally get under the contract that limited them to 60kWh... upgrading to 75kWh requires the purchase. It would be within Tesla's right to defeat any circumvention of such agreements through "hacking"
     
  13. Gilberto Pe-Curto

    Well-Known Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2016
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Gender:
    Male
    City & State/Province:
    Almada, Portugal
    Country:
    Country
    I was not really serious about that.
    It was more kind of a joke, because I believe Tesla engineering would be smart enough to make a system that does not allow that kind of hacking.
     

Share This Page

Model 3 Owners Club © 2017. All rights reserved.
Model 3 Owners Club (M3OC) is an enthusiast club and is not affiliated with Tesla Motors or the Tesla Motors Club Forum (TMC).
All Tesla logos are trademarks or registered trademarks of Tesla Motors.