1. Model 3 is coming. Get your Model 3 Owners Club apparel today!

Dismiss Notice

Programming Charging Thoughts

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by sandange, Aug 14, 2017.

More threads by sandange
  1. sandange

Expand Collapse

Retired
    City & State/Province:
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Country
    I'm not sure how programming charging on a Tesla works or if its all manually set

I have been driving an EV now for over 5 years and am aware that the best state of charge for battery health is between 20% - 70% .
    Because of my very limited battery size in the vehicle I own now,
    every night when I get home (in order to keep my battery in the best health)
    Now I have to, or should......

1) Gauge my battery's state of charge,
    2) Figure out if I need to charge it to a minimum state of 15-20% right away.
    a) if so set up charging time to achieve this.
    b) I also have to remember to reprogram for the overnight charging for the next day

3) Calculate what time I wish to leave the next morning
    4) Decide what state of charge (%) I will need that day
    5) Estimate how much time/ hours charging I need to achieve this state of charge to end a 1/2 hr before departure.
    6) Remember to precondition (heating or AC) the cabin 15 -30 minutes before I would depart.

Doing all this every night can be tedious/time consuming and sometime miss calculated, especially if you arrive home exhausted after a long day.

Wouldn't it be nice to have all this calculated automatically for you &
    Have only to do this

1) Plug in your model 3 when you get home
    2) Enter what time you will depart the next morning
    3) Select Cabin preconditioning

& with the convenience of saving this setting
    in a one touch memory function.
    Kind of like an electric seat position memory recall.

• Winner Winner x 1
  2. MelindaV

☰ > 3
    Expand Collapse

City & State/Province:
    Vancouver, WA
    Tesla Owner:
    Reservation
    Country