1. Model 3 is coming. Get your Model 3 Owners Club apparel today!


    Dismiss Notice

Symbols missing in Safari

Discussion in 'Site Feedback' started by Juergen, Sep 20, 2017.

More threads by Juergen
  1. Juergen

    Active Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    City & State/Province:
    Messstetten
    Country:
    Country
    Hi,

    in Mac OS Safari light style are some symbols missing. I make 2 screenshots to see the difference.
    On top is Firefox and below is Safari.
    I'm using MacOS El Capitan 10.11.6 on iMac 20" early 2008.
    Firefox_vs_Safari_light.png

    Firefox_vs_Safari_dark.png
    You can see the squares in the light style.
    Is not easy to navigate without to see whats behind.


    Juergen
     
  2. garsh

    Dis Member
    Moderator M3OC Supporting Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    3,082
    Likes Received:
    1,738
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    City & State/Province:
    Pittsburgh PA
    Country:
    Country
    That looks like a caching issue. Try an ignore-cache page reload (hold down SHIFT, then hit the page reload button).

    I'm not familiar with "Safari Light Style", and a quick search didn't turn up anything. Can you give me a link that explains this feature?
     
  3. Juergen

    Active Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    City & State/Province:
    Messstetten
    Country:
    Country
    Thanks for the quick response!

    You can switch the M3OC style if you scroll down. Then you see the M3OC Dark or M3OC light menu button.
    It is in the dark gray footer. A click on it open a window to choose the style.
     
  4. garsh

    Dis Member
    Moderator M3OC Supporting Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    3,082
    Likes Received:
    1,738
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    City & State/Province:
    Pittsburgh PA
    Country:
    Country
    Thanks! I understand now.

    Did you try a shift-refresh?
     
  5. Juergen

    Active Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    City & State/Province:
    Messstetten
    Country:
    Country
    Yes, I did. Without effect. I also clean the browser data and the cache. Also no effect.
     
  6. JWardell

    Top-Contributor
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 9, 2016
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    638
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Gender:
    Male
    City & State/Province:
    Boston
    Tesla Owner:
    Reservation
    Country:
    Country
    Strange. I use safari and the light theme and have no issues with those graphics loading. They are the down arrows to indicate a menu appears if you hover over the word, so it shouldn't affect functionality.

    You could also try holding down over the reload button in the address bar, and selecting Reload without Content blockers.
    It's possible you have a adblocker or other plugin that is blocking them.
     
  7. Juergen

    Active Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    City & State/Province:
    Messstetten
    Country:
    Country
    Maybe this is a language thing. I have german as system language.
    By the other hand, why I have no issues with the dark style.
    In the light style is the alert bell invisible, but the popup window appear if I hover with the mouse pointer over it. I'm now an my second mac which is a old Macbook Pro late 2008. I have here the same issues as the iMac with same software.
    The different kind of reload the site and deactivate safaris own blocker have no impact.
     
  8. SoFlaModel3

    Impatiently Waiting
    Moderator M3OC Supporting Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2017
    Messages:
    3,355
    Likes Received:
    1,588
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    City & State/Province:
    South Florida
    Tesla Owner:
    Reservation
    Country:
    Country
    I get the sense you're right, it may be a language thing if there is a conversion happening on your end.

    Did you update to MacOS High Sierra? Still have the issue?
     
  9. Juergen

    Active Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    City & State/Province:
    Messstetten
    Country:
    Country
    I can’t make this update. The hardware is to old:( But the Safari is the newest.
     
  10. SoFlaModel3

    Impatiently Waiting
    Moderator M3OC Supporting Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2017
    Messages:
    3,355
    Likes Received:
    1,588
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    City & State/Province:
    South Florida
    Tesla Owner:
    Reservation
    Country:
    Country
    Ahhh.

    I would definitely lean toward the translation then.

    Have you tried another browser, like Chrome?
     
  11. TrevP

    M3OC Founder / Administrator
    Founder M3OC Supporting Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    5,186
    Likes Received:
    2,838
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    City & State/Province:
    Aurora,Ontario
    Tesla Owner:
    Reservation
    Country:
    Country
    The squares you are seeing is because your browser is not loading everything over SSL, in this case the Font Awesome fonts which are responsible for the icons. Everything works for me in both Safari/Chrome, FF 55.x on El Cap, Sierra and High Sierra.

    Clear your browser caches and try it again....

    Also, make sure you have the latest version of each browser. They're getting very tight with SSL requirements now (no mixing of secure and unsecure resources)
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  12. Juergen

    Active Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    City & State/Province:
    Messstetten
    Country:
    Country
    The another browser works well.

    Browser cleaning doesn’t work for me.
    Why are the problems only in light style? You can see this in my first post.
     
  13. SoFlaModel3

    Impatiently Waiting
    Moderator M3OC Supporting Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2017
    Messages:
    3,355
    Likes Received:
    1,588
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    City & State/Province:
    South Florida
    Tesla Owner:
    Reservation
    Country:
    Country
    I hadn't noticed that the issue was only one theme and not the other that is strange. My only inclination would be to clear cache. In Safari go to File > New Private Window. If it works there, it's definitely something stored locally. If it doesn't work there I'm just about stumped (I don't have access to anything behind the scenes with code though).
     
  14. garsh

    Dis Member
    Moderator M3OC Supporting Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    3,082
    Likes Received:
    1,738
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    City & State/Province:
    Pittsburgh PA
    Country:
    Country
  15. Juergen

    Active Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    City & State/Province:
    Messstetten
    Country:
    Country
    I don't have access to the Mac for the next few days. I'll try it in a few days.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. TrevP

    M3OC Founder / Administrator
    Founder M3OC Supporting Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    Messages:
    5,186
    Likes Received:
    2,838
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    City & State/Province:
    Aurora,Ontario
    Tesla Owner:
    Reservation
    Country:
    Country
    If you have an Adblocker that could also be the cause. Whitelist our site, we don't have ads
     
  17. Juergen

    Active Member
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    City & State/Province:
    Messstetten
    Country:
    Country
    I've tried different things.
    I changed the Mac to English. Without success.
    I tried a new private window. Without success.
    I disabled the add blocker. Without success.
    Do you have any other suggestions?
    Screen Shot 2017-10-03 at 18.20.10.png
    Maybe the screenshot will help?
     

Share This Page

Model 3 Owners Club © 2017. All rights reserved.
Model 3 Owners Club (M3OC) is an enthusiast club and is not affiliated with Tesla Motors or the Tesla Motors Club Forum (TMC).
All Tesla logos are trademarks or registered trademarks of Tesla Motors.