1. Tesla Model 3 apparel now available!

Dismiss Notice

Tesla vs. ICE & Other EVs

Discussion in 'Electric Vehicles' started by Dan Detweiler, Apr 18, 2017.

More threads by Dan Detweiler
  1. Dan Detweiler

Top-Contributor
    Expand Collapse

City & State/Province:
    Canton, Georgia
    Country
    I have a question for those of you that may have experience with Teslas as well as other EVs or even ICE cars. I have been driving a Volt for the past 4 years and one thing I have noticed is that while there is virtually no noise from the car itself there is significantly noticeable road noise. Sometimes it is quite bad.

Do Teslas suffer from the same issue? I guess without engine noise you just notice road and wind noise more. Has Tesla done anything above and beyond to shelter the cabin from these unwanted noises? I also wonder if Tesla's skateboard design muffles the road noise somewhat as opposed to the Chevy Volt's "T" battery pack.

Dan

2. garsh

Dis Member
    Expand Collapse

City & State/Province:
    Pittsburgh PA
    Country
    Even for ICE vehicles, once you get above 20 mph, and assuming you're not accelerating hard, most of the noise you hear is road noise.

I don't think the battery pack will make much of a difference. The noise comes from the tires. Adding additional sound insulation (like dynamat) to the wheel-well areas would help a lot.

Also, you can try to buy tires with a quiet tread pattern, but I think that's more of an art than a science.

• Agree Agree x 1
    • MelindaV

☰ > 3
      Expand Collapse

City & State/Province:
      Vancouver, WA
      Country
      Your tires make a big difference. Check TireRack's review/ratings for noise ratings
      http://blog.tirerack.com/blog/turk-t/what-are-the-quietest-tires-v3