The experience of a car purist after 2800 miles

Discussion in 'Tesla Experiences' started by GTV6, Jul 25, 2018.

1. GTV6

Expand Collapse

Country
    #1 GTV6, Jul 25, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2018
    Please excuse any repetition as I have been off of the Forum during the 3 weeks since delivery of my RWD Model 3. (I've been driving instead!)

Background: I grew up in a car family enamored with European cars: We had '56 VW convertible and the first Porsche '56 356A cabriolet in the US, one of the first 911's (when they were affordable) and one of the first BMW 2002's. . My brother and I have continued this obsession since (we are both in our 70's). I'm an enthusiastic street driver, have also had motorcycles and he has raced in semi-pro series. The Model 3 is the first new American car I've ever purchased. I'm so glad I've finally been able to support an American company. We are in agreement on the following observations:

Overall, this is the best car I have ever owned.

The bad are very minor:

1. The interior door handles are a constant nuisance. I'm glad for the readily accessible emergency buttons but the constant reminder to passengers is obnoxious and ineffective. Even the most obsessive (including me) find ourselves hitting the wrong opener.

2. Even after a 1300 mile interstate trip, i continue to reflexively jump every time I pass a slower vehicle and see in my peripheral vision the ghost image of the car i am passing on the screen. Since the screen image is approaching me, it looks as if the danger is approaching and imminent. Am I the only one?

3. The screen in itself is NOT any more distracting than the typical set up. However, the vast quantity of information available increases the opportunities for distraction. Be careful out there!