TuneIn “Loading Error”

  • Please post everything related to v9 (2018.39.x) into the version 9 MEGATHREAD. Please do your part to keep this site organized for everyone by looking around or doing a search BEFORE posting. Thanks

  • It's OK to discuss software issues here but please report bugs to Tesla directly at servicehelpna@teslamotors.com if you want things fixed.

rsbell

Active Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2016
Messages
128
Location
Murrieta, CA
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Country
Country
#2
Yes I’ve noticed this as well. Usually goes away after a few minutes, but it seems the best way to fix it is to switch to a Slacker station then back to the Tunein station. Might be just coincidental, though.
 

atebit

Event Horizon II
Joined
Jan 25, 2018
Messages
104
Location
Chester County, PA
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Country
Country
#3
Yes, that’s my usual remedy as well, but it wasn’t working at the time. It took over an hour to sort itself out. I probably should’ve just given it the two scroll wheel salute.
 

TrevP

M3OC Founder / Administrator
Founder
Joined
Mar 1, 2016
Messages
5,833
Location
Aurora,Ontario
Tesla Owner
Model X
Country
Country
#4
I had the same issue on our X as well. Some stations just won't come up no matter what I do (usually podcasts)
 

Brokedoc

Kick-Gas Contributor
Moderator
Joined
May 28, 2017
Messages
1,697
Location
New York
Tesla Owner
Model X
Country
Country
#5
I had the same issue on our X as well. Some stations just won't come up no matter what I do (usually podcasts)
This is a common and apparently unfixable (or low priority) bug for Tesla OS.

My biggest peeve was the lack of AM radio so I couldn't listen to Bloomberg business news. The TuneIn Bloomberg radio channel wouldn't load no matter what. Then I happened to be searching other things and found a different Bloomberg "channel" - The avatar is slightly different. This seems to work most of the time. When I get the loading error, I simply switch to a different channel on TuneIn and switch back and it's fixed but frustrating because it happens often - at least once per day and I'm not in the car that much.
 

Stringcheese

Active Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2016
Messages
38
Location
Bridgewater MA
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Country
Country
#6
It seems like it would be nice. But Tunein has a very limited selection of podcasts and well over 3/4 of the ones they do have won’t load for me. Good thing it is very easy to use my phone with the media player.

Hopefully they fix this at some point- but not a huge deal /priority
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2017
Messages
18
Location
Bethesda, MD
Country
Country
#7
For us long-time Tesla fans it may not be a big deal, but when they start rolling Model 3s out to folks that are just looking for an electric car, problems like this one will be significant negatives, the digital equivalent of "fit and finish". They won't have as much patience for this as us early adopters do.

For that reason, I appreciate that Tesla has limited the software capabilities at the start. But they need to quash more bugs within even that limited release in order to get new owners to see this car as an all-around amazing driving experience.
 

Stringcheese

Active Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2016
Messages
38
Location
Bridgewater MA
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Country
Country
#9
this is on the podcaster to get their show posted to TuneIn. if there is something you listen to regularly, ask that person to add their podcast to TuneIn.
You aren't wrong... but realistically I've been listening to podcasts for over 10 years and just started using TuneIn this week in the car. That seems like a decent time commitment based off the list I've accumulated. They definitely need to make the ones they have work first. Point taken tho!
 

atebit

Event Horizon II
Joined
Jan 25, 2018
Messages
104
Location
Chester County, PA
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Country
Country
#10
TuneIn stability seems a little bit better for me for the last few days. I’m thinking maybe a minor fixit release was pushed out early last week. I had turned the car on at one point & the player’s volume level was blasting, GPS was magically muted, map perspective had reset to “North”, etc...all good indications that continuous “something” was afoot earlier.

: popcorn
 

Sam Diego

Active Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2017
Messages
58
Location
San Diego CA
Country
Country
#11
Has anyone been able to have longer podcasts successfully resume after leaving the car for a few hours and returning? Mine always restart from scratch and never saves it's spot... Very annoying.
 

LUXMAN

Legendary Member
M3OC Supporting Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2016
Messages
2,502
Location
Lantana, Texas
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Country
Country
#12
Has anyone been able to have longer podcasts successfully resume after leaving the car for a few hours and returning? Mine always restart from scratch and never saves it's spot... Very annoying.
So far no. Same thing here
 

Chris350

Active Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2017
Messages
83
Location
Jupiter, FL
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Country
Country
#17
A couple of major annoying issues for me when it comes to Tunein podcasts....

1.) Even though I am a premium Tunein subscriber, I can't get the car to pick up any of my premium podcasts (commercial free)... It just refuses to show them.... i.e. Inside Jaws (podcast)...

2.) During playback of podcasts, even though it appears that the entire podcast has downloaded to the car, It will just suddenly stop playback during the cast and switch to the next episode....

3.) You can't add RSS feeds (podcasts) to Tunein.... If the titles in not available on Tunein, there is no way to add it...

Makes me crazy....
 

/billy

Active Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2017
Messages
47
Location
solano county ca
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Country
Country
#18
A couple of major annoying issues for me when it comes to Tunein podcasts....

1.) Even though I am a premium Tunein subscriber, I can't get the car to pick up any of my premium podcasts (commercial free)... It just refuses to show them.... i.e. Inside Jaws (podcast)...

2.) During playback of podcasts, even though it appears that the entire podcast has downloaded to the car, It will just suddenly stop playback during the cast and switch to the next episode....

3.) You can't add RSS feeds (podcasts) to Tunein.... If the titles in not available on Tunein, there is no way to add it...

Makes me crazy....
Ya, sounds like it's not a good value. I'm good with using my phone for podcasts.
 

Firewired

Active Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2016
Messages
92
Location
San Antonio
#19
Ok. I finally just found the solution to this after trying everything for at least two years. . It works in my S and X S and assume works the same issue with the three. Mine hasn’t arrived yet.

When you get the Tunein loading error don’t hit the refresh circular arrow. Otherwise you will keep getting the loading error. Just wait. If you notice there is a grey line in the display of the podcast which shows you the episode cache-ing. It is the same bar that shows progress when an episode plays. Wait for the episode to fully cache and the grey bar to go completely to the end. Once the grey bar is complete and you hit the refresh arrow the episode will start to immediately play.

Let me know if that works for you.
 

Chris350

Active Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2017
Messages
83
Location
Jupiter, FL
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Country
Country
#20
Ok. I finally just found the solution to this after trying everything for at least two years. . It works in my S and X S and assume works the same issue with the three. Mine hasn’t arrived yet.

When you get the Tunein loading error don’t hit the refresh circular arrow. Otherwise you will keep getting the loading error. Just wait. If you notice there is a grey line in the display of the podcast which shows you the episode cache-ing. It is the same bar that shows progress when an episode plays. Wait for the episode to fully cache and the grey bar to go completely to the end. Once the grey bar is complete and you hit the refresh arrow the episode will start to immediately play.

Let me know if that works for you.
Will give this a try....

One thing that I notice is that even if it caches the entire episode, sometimes during playback it just stops during the podcast and then switches to a different episode...

Even if I go back and select the podcast I was listening to, it will do the same thing... sometimes in the same spot or earlier in the cast...

It is like, even though it appears the entire cast is cached, it isn't and stops playing at the point in which is actually cached... Have I confused you or does that make sense?