Unable to start car. Unable to charge.

  • If you haven't taken delivery yet or plan on ordering you can still get the 6 months of FREE Supercharging only until December 17th all Model 3s now qualify! Call or email your Tesla delivery advisor and give them our code
  • Please post everything related to v9 (2018.39.x) into the version 9 MEGATHREAD. Please do your part to keep this site organized for everyone by looking around or doing a search BEFORE posting. Thanks

  • Winter is here and the forum is starting to get flooded with cold weather threads and posts. Please heed the suggested threads and posts before you post something related to cold weather. This is a great place to start: https://model3ownersclub.com/threads/teslas-in-cold-weather.5271
  • It's OK to discuss software issues here but please report bugs to Tesla directly at servicehelpna@teslamotors.com if you want things fixed.
Joined
Oct 22, 2018
Messages
2
Location
IL
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Country
Country
#1
I took delivery of my M3 today and did its first update. The update failed and is showing these errors:

Unable to charge
Incompatible software versions

Software update required
Contact Tesla Service

Software update required
Unable to start car

So, needless to say, I'm not super happy with my purchase at the moment. I contacted Tesla Service and they said they would send an update when they could find a technician. Maybe today, maybe tomorrow. If that doesn't work they may have to tow it to a service center.

Has anyone else had this problem? Please tell me this is not a frequent occurrence. There is a small part of me that's tempted to tell them they can have the car back.
 

GDN

Moderator
Moderator
M3OC Supporting Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2017
Messages
1,917
Location
Far North Dallas, TX
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Country
Country
#2
Welcome to the forum. Sorry to hear of the first day troubles. Likely we don't like to see it, but you aren't truly alone, it has happened to others before. Likely a few documented cases on the forums here of first day or first week problems. Sometimes things can be cleared up with the two button reboot. I'm hoping they would have walked you through that when you called in for service.

It is likely fixable and they will take care of you by getting you in a loaner if they need to keep your car very long. Give them a chance, they'll get you fixed up.
 

PNWmisty

Legendary Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2017
Messages
2,083
Location
Anacortes, WA
Country
Country
#3
Has anyone else had this problem? Please tell me this is not a frequent occurrence. There is a small part of me that's tempted to tell them they can have the car back.
It's pretty rare but I have heard of at least one other case that sounds similar. I bet they have you up and running pretty quickly. You haven't even had time to bond with the car yet!
 

Lovesword

Top-Contributor
M3OC Supporting Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2017
Messages
1,210
Location
Iowa
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Country
Country
#6
I took delivery of my M3 today and did its first update. The update failed and is showing these errors:

Unable to charge
Incompatible software versions

Software update required
Contact Tesla Service

Software update required
Unable to start car

So, needless to say, I'm not super happy with my purchase at the moment. I contacted Tesla Service and they said they would send an update when they could find a technician. Maybe today, maybe tomorrow. If that doesn't work they may have to tow it to a service center.

Has anyone else had this problem? Please tell me this is not a frequent occurrence. There is a small part of me that's tempted to tell them they can have the car back.
To add to the other responses and with hope to give you more data points, I've had my car since February and have not had this occur. I like and agree with @garsh reply above and would contact your local service center, even your Delivery Specialist that you worked with and let them know what's going on.
 

JasonF

Active Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2018
Messages
98
Location
Orlando FL
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Country
Country
#7
Tesla really should really add something to the app, or the online account, where it would detect a failure in your car software and allow you to initiate a restore. It can't really cause harm, if your software has already been hosed, and will save service some time.

The only suggestion I have while waiting for Tesla is check the 12 volt battery voltage (it's possible the battery ran down and turned off during an update), and put the car on wifi if you can. It might pick up the update and offer it to you again, which could solve the problem nicely. Most likely if it ends up in repair, Tesla will probably replace the MCU so they can send yours back to find out why the update failed.
 

JeffC

Top-Contributor
Joined
Jul 4, 2018
Messages
537
Location
Silicon Valley
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Country
Country
#8
Sorry to hear about the difficulties. My car has upgraded firmware multiple times without problems. I keep the car plugged into the Mobile Connector for charging and have wifi in the garage.

Agree with the suggestions so far. Check the 12V battery. You can access is from the small circular panel at the right front of the bumper. Or you can pull the cover under the windshield after opening the frunk.

If the voltage is low, carefully put a charger on it.

Also try pressing both steering wheel buttons for several seconds to reboot some of the computers.

My bet is the 12V battery being low enough to interrupt the firmware upgrade.

Also make sure the car is plugged into AC power or an EVSE, i.e. charge the main battery pack. The car includes a 12V charger that's powered from the main pack.
 

littlD

Top-Contributor
M3OC Supporting Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2016
Messages
422
Location
Saint Peters, MO
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Country
Country
#10
maybe @littlD can chime in and assure you that when things like this happen (nearly immediately after delivery), that Tesla does act quickly to get the issue resolved.
Happy to chime in.

I too had a first day issue with an update, but it's very rare, I've updated 11 times since with no issues.

Don't worry, your car is not defective and Tesla will make it right.

Reach out to the Service Center where you took delivery and work with them.

Since that disappointing day, I've since enjoyed 16,000+ miles in over 6 months of ownership, and it's been amazing.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2018
Messages
2
Location
IL
Tesla Owner
Model 3
Country
Country
#11
Thank you all very much for your responses.

About 2 hours after contacting support I got a notification on my phone that the update was successful. I'm not sure if a Tesla tech forced an update or if the car attempted the update again on its own but the result was a fully functioning Model 3! Since then I've put 200 very enjoyable miles on the car. This car is a pleasure to drive and I was very reassured by the speed at which the problem was resolved.

Again, thank you all very much for your comments.