1. Model 3 is coming. Get your Model 3 Owners Club apparel today!

Dismiss Notice

Which is better?

Discussion in 'Electric Vehicles' started by Red, Apr 24, 2016.

More threads by Red
  1. Red

Red
    Expand Collapse

City & State/Province:
    Tampa FL
    Is it better for the battery if you charge as slow as possible (Lvl 1) whenever possible? Or does it not matter at all when it comes to battery degradation? Thx.

2. AEDennis

Top-Contributor
    Expand Collapse

City & State/Province:
    Southern California, Most of the time...
    Country
    It doesn't seem to matter on Model S. The Roadster's calculations make it seem to be better to charge at a slower rate. But that may be an illusion.

3. Skione65

Expand Collapse

City & State/Province:
    Kentucky
    Tesla Owner:
    Reservation
    Country

Red,

I can't answer that as I have no experience with EV's yet. But I have researched and read that as far as charging it is best for battery life to NOT charge to 100% (only very infrequently if needed for extremely long road trips to the max capability of range if needed) but to charge to around 70-80% battery capacity for battery life. Is that correct AEDennis or TeslaLiving?

Ski

4. AEDennis

Top-Contributor
    Expand Collapse

City & State/Province:
    Country
    I often charge to 90% on S (56k miles and degradation has slowed, 253 max miles now and 265 originally.)

On the Roadster there are two settings, Standard and Range Charge. Standard is a setting to 80%.

5. Skione65

Expand Collapse

City & State/Province:
    Kentucky
    Tesla Owner:
    Reservation
    Country

AEDennis,
    I'm familiar with the range charge all Byorns videos. I was thinking about this yesterday while cutting grass yesterday... (not like I'm obsessing like MelV!!! ;)

6. Skione65

Expand Collapse

City & State/Province:
    Kentucky
    Tesla Owner:
    Reservation
    Country
    Took too long to write post and timed out! Lol

7. Skione65

Expand Collapse